Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,556   Posts: 1,545,036   Online: 899

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Itching to get into large format

I was a 35 mm shooter for a long time. I started shooting with a 5D2 a couple of years ago (I held out for as long as I could). Well, as my luck would have it I recently came upon a mint condition RB67 Pro-S with some very nice lenses. The bigger medium format film is blowing me away. I love working with it. Now I'm thinking I might love large format even more because...well the bigger the better right?!

Anyways, where do I start?? What sort of budget should I look at for decent gear? I don't want to jump into it immediately, but by the time I do I would be willing to shell out maybe 1-2k (I'm okay with good quality used gear).

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The real tough question is not "where do I start", but "where do I stop"...

There is a massive variety in LF as it was used for 100+ years. Speak more about how/what you wish to photograph.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Itching to get into large format

From 35mm to medium format is indeed a quantum leap in quality, but when I started shooting large format, I didn't get the same sense of improvement, although it is indeed nice.

The cost of everything will depend on the size. 4x5 is quite economical, but upon going up to 8x10 the price of everything jumps exponentially.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick A View Post

Is that what we would refer to as a "shameless plug"? LOL LOL

Shooter
    4x5 Format