Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,228   Posts: 1,532,754   Online: 856

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Need lens help for Speed Graphic

I have recently acquired a Speed Graphic. It seems to be in pretty good shape except that the lens is a bit cloudy. I'm new to large format......and have no idea what type of lens would fit this camera. I do know that I could use a lens from a Polaroid 110A or 110B......but I prefer to buy from KEH and they don't have one. They have large format lenses......but again, I don't know which ones would fit this camera. Not sure if it matters.....but I'll be using a roll film back. (6X9) As far as focal length.....I'm mainly interested in landscape and old buildings. I will appreciate any advice. Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try cleaning the lens you have. What is it?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It's a 135mm Graflex Optar 4.7. I tried cleaning it........seems to be on the inside.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Remove the lens cells from the shutter and clean the inside parts too.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by chazz View Post
    It's a 135mm Graflex Optar 4.7. I tried cleaning it........seems to be on the inside.
    The front and rear cells unscrew from the shutter, then the front cell comes apart. That's a very good lens, it's a relabeled Wollensak Raptar.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    ... and its even better with a lens hood.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by BrianShaw View Post
    ... and its even better with a lens hood.
    All lenses are better with a lens hood.

Shooter
    Medium Format