Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,228   Posts: 1,532,694   Online: 776

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Crown Graphic focusing problem.

I recently purchased a Graflex Crown Graphic with two lenses: a 90mm 6.8 Spiratone Weitweinkel Anastigmat and a 165mm 6.3 Ilex-Calumet Caltar and a couple of film holders.

I'm having trouble focusing using the ground glass, all I see are the image in round circles but complete image on the ground glass. It gets better the longer the distance between myself and the camera but that defeats the purpose. It's worse with the 90mm lens. Am I using the incorrect lens board? It's a standard metal plate one with 'Special' written on the top.

I'm new with large format but not a complete novice. I have a monorail and recently had a Graflex RB 4X5.

Any help would be appreciated.

Chris M.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Oh, my. Oh, my. No one has told you about infinity (also called bed) stops. Go to www.graflex.org and read the FAQs, they'll describe them.

If you're lucky your Crown is set up for the lenses you have and will have two sets of bed stops, one pair close to the bed's hinge and one pair some distance in front of it. If you're unlucky it will have just one set.

To focus the longer lens to infinity (more or less, the stops may have to be relocated), flip up the far away stops, pull the front standard out (slide it on the bed rails) until it butts up against the stops. If the stops are set for the usual "kit" lens they'll be a little close to the film plane for y'r 165 but the camera will have enough focusing travel to reach infinity and somewhat closer.

If there are two sets of bed stops, pulling the front standard forward to the near in set should put it at more or less the infinity position for y'r 90. You'll have to drop the bed and use front rise to center the lens on the gate.