Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,809   Posts: 1,581,528   Online: 970

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

Historian Needs Help ID Large Format Wollensak Betax #5

Hi all,

I am a 19th and early 20th century historian who, in the process of doing some work, came across what appears to be a disassembled large format copy stand camera from either the 20s or 30s. I have tried to do some research and have some idea of the bits and pieces of what I am looking at. However, since my background isnt in photography I am hoping someone can give me the bigger picture (ouch.. no pun intended). I want to clean up the pieces (they have dust and some mold) and see what it might take to restore it. I also am not sure if we have all the pieces. This isnt for personal or private use.. .simply for my academic work. Any help would be greatly appreciates.

There are pictures posted below. Here are the main components..

A square 11" x 11" board with a Wollensak lens Betax No 5 (there is a number 0262 stamped on back).

A square 13" x 13" board with a glass plate and hinges (the film holder? )

A square 8.5" x 8.5" wood board with glass plate and hinges (similar to above but smaller, wood is painted grey, and it appears newer?)

A 3 tiered wood baord -- top tier with similar glass plate and clamps.. base tier is 12.5" x 12.5" .. several knobs that loosen to allow swivel of top glass plate. Stamped with "Fulmer & Schwing Division, Eastman Kodak Co., Rochester NY"-- also a small number on stamp #14468

A package containing two bellows.. written on outside is "bellows for 8x10 copy stand camera"

Thanks everyone.. greatly appreciate the help

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1642.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	475.5 KB 
ID:	70076
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_1637.jpg   IMG_1643.jpg   IMG_1646.jpg   IMG_1647.jpg   IMG_1649.jpg