Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,843   Posts: 1,582,646   Online: 1059

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Graflex 4x5 Grafmatic questions...........

I have a project going and was wondering if this might be a solution. The project is a vintage Western Camera Corp. Cyclone No.5 falling plate camera. I want to convert it to use straight 4x5 sheet film and the answer to these two questions might help. I have never used a 4x5 Grafmatic film holder before so know very little about them, but do know they have 6 4x5 film septums in them and that's what I'm interested in. I think I could use those septums to help in the plate to film conversion. First question is "where can I buy just the 4x5 septums"? Second question is "what are they made out of"? It would be perfect if they were made out of steel, but aluminum would work also. I already have it setup to use 4x5 film, but it's a little crude and the septums would make it easier and more professional looking. JW

Shooter
    Large Format
    They're made of steel. Find them wherever you can, is the answer.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What you probably want are film sheaths which were intended for using film in plate holders intended for glass plates. The septums in a grafmatic are a little different, and probably wouldn't fit a space meant for a 4x5 plate.
    Try p.m.'ing whiteymorange he's had some film sheaths in the past, and may still.

Shooter
    35mm

nuggets

When you ask about finding old camera parts it is the same as asking "where can I find some gold nuggets someone has laying around?" A least that is what it seems to mean to the people with the parts. IMO.

Shooter
    Medium Format