Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,564   Posts: 1,545,310   Online: 891

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Depth of focus (NOT field) calculation query

Hoping the LF subforum to be the most appropriate for this question ...

Do please note this is NOT a question about depth of field!

I am a very inadequate mathematician indeed, and thus I am struggling to determine the depth of focus for a given focal length, aperture and format. (I am trying to establish the room for error I might have if I wanted to construct a fixed-focus LF "box" camera.)

The parameters are:

Lens focal length: 150mm
    Aperture: f/45
    Format: 10"x8"
    Assumed Circle of Confusion: 0.2mm
    Object distance: 1000m (i.e. for all intents and purposes, ∞)

The Blessed Wikipedia offers the following equations:
    t=2Nc(v/f)
    where t=depth of focus, N=f/stop, c=circle of confusion, v=image distance and f=lens focal length.

as well as t≈2Nc for all but large magnifications

My Focal/Ilford Manual also offers t=2Nc(v/f), but also

t=(2f^2)/h, where h=hyperfocal distance (presumably for a given focal length and f/stop?)

I had assumed that the depth of focus would be in the order of a perhaps only 2 or 3 millimetres at most, but however I plug numbers into the equations I get a range of answers from 17mm up to the quite absurd 120m!

I presume I am misunderstanding something rather basic, to say the least.

SO ... how should one use these equations to correctly calculate depth of focus? (or is there a simpler way?)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I can't help with the math, at all.
    There isn't much room for error though and that's why it's the most important measurement when building a camera. Why do you want to know and what are you going to do with these numbers when you come up with them?
    www.vinnywalsh.com