Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,217   Posts: 1,532,152   Online: 991

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

A ballhead that won't break the bank

Hi all! I am currently using a Bogen 3047 head with my Horseman LE and it's great but rather bulky. Since I am adding a Shen-Hao to my arsenal, I would like to get a ball head that I can mount on my 'traveling' pod that I can also get QR plates to use with my Mamiya 330f and my Canon 20D. Again, the Horseman will stay on the Bogen so I don't need a ballhead to handle it, just the other three cameras.

So I'd love to hear what you folks are successfully using; maybe even pros and cons (as I've never used a ballhead before).

p.s. Money is an issue so don't tell me how much you love your $300+ ArcaSwiss (or whatever) 'cause that ain't gonna happen and I'll only be jealous

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I use a ballhead that I got from Canon with my field camera, it was around $100.00 has a good holding system and seems to be quite steady, it was not a QR model, so I added a QR mount that I picked up on Ebay for about $25.00 that works with the standard arca sized QR plates, the ball is about 1.5 inches in diameter and it is made out of magnisium, so not overly heavy.

Dave

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I use a Manfrotto 468RC (Bogen code: 3435QR). I have had it for a number of years and don't recall what I paid for it.
    Diane

Halak 41

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images