Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,233   Posts: 1,532,925   Online: 1017

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

HUGE Image Circles (lens coverage)

MASSIVELY overrated. What do you think? Everyone's so hung up on this. I spent COUNTLESS hours trying to figure out which lenses had the biggest coverage - even to the point of considering a 150 grandagon for my normal lens on 4x5. I'm an architectural photographer, too - so you'd think it would be important to me. When I do lens rises - they tend to be pretty subtle - rarely more than 10-20mm. And QUITE often I use 5mm or less. I even think it's quite refreshing not to use ANY. More than 10mm on 4x5 just starts to look kind of silly IMHO. Others' opinions?

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    Using ULF this becomes a primary consideration. Horses for courses - you don;t need 25 inches of coverage for a 4x5 but try architectural photography with an 11x14 or 8x20. HUGE image circles aren;t overrated at all in those circumstances.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky
    More than 10mm on 4x5 just starts to look kind of silly IMHO.
    Looks silly how?

Ian

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Talking of huge, how about 900mm coverage. That big enough.

Fine Art lenses from S-K 550mm and 1100mm.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by matt miller
    Looks silly how?
    I'd guess that he means that if you need more than 10mm of front rise on 4x5", the subject starts to look unnaturally forshortened.