Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,659   Posts: 1,481,504   Online: 1143

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

240mm Heliar or 250mm W.F. Ektar

I am somewhat new to 8X10, but have shot 4x5 for years. I have always used modern lenses though.

When I got the 8x10 I decided I wanted to shoot B&W exclusively and use older lenses. I fell inlove with the look of Ektar lenses and TriX film.

So I have a 14" ektar that I like very much. And I wanted to get a 10" lens for the camera.

How would anyone compare a Voightlander Heliar 240mm f4.5 and a 10" Wide Field Ektar?

Any Ideas would be VERY HELPFUL.

Thank You.

Corey

Shooter
    Large Format
    How would anyone compare a Voightlander Heliar 240mm f4.5 and a 10" Wide Field Ektar?
    Apples and Oranges. The WF Ektar should make a nice medium wide with lots of movements. It is a well thought of lens, although I have have heard some complaints about how it renders out of focus areas.

The 24cm Heliar won't cover 8x10. The Heliar is normally used as a portrait lens, although many use them for field work. While they are not by any means soft-focus, they are not really "hard" focus either. I love my Heliar, but coverage is limited. You would probably need a 36cm Heliar for 8x10, although I think a 30cm will just cover.

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Blog Entries
    Images