Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,708   Posts: 1,548,555   Online: 1171

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

College student in search of 4x5 field

I'm a college student in middle tennessee studying photography. I'm in a historic processes class and have fallen in love with the 4x5 negitive. (thank goodness we don't have a 8x10 system) I've been checking out and lugging around the one of the cambo view camera's that belongs to the school, but I would really like to move into ownership since it's a 45 minute drive one way and we are only allowed to the camera's for half a day. Not to mention the 20+ pounds of case, knowing I could backpack a flatbed.

I've read lots of info on the speed graphics, but something about the wood field cameras keeps drawing my attention. I really like the shen-hao 4x5 but I can't find an online store that sells them. It seems to be the most bang for the buck. But that's just from reading reviews, I've never actually used one.

Ebay is scarce on affordable field 4x5's. Sure, I'd love to buy a wista with three lenses and 50 film holders, but the extra stuff pushes it out of my college budget.

Does anyone have a used 4x5 field camera for sale or know of a reliable store that sells them online?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    www.mpex.com

http://www.badgergraphic.com/search.asp?x=largeformat

While the Shen Hao might be the best bang for a new camera plenty of older cameras out there. Move up to 5x7 and the Ansco 5x7 isn't very expensive. I think they even made a 4x5 back for it. Won't be that great for wide angle lenses.

Unless the prices on Speeds have dropped they're expensive IMHO. You can get a B&J press camera that will have more movenments and a fraction of the price. But no graflok back. Still a B&J can often be had for less then $100 including a lens.

Shooter
    Multi Format