Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,458   Posts: 1,643,779   Online: 767

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Sinar F and F1 portability

How portable can be Sinar F or F1 setup comparative, say, to Linhof Color Kardan 45s ? I notice quite a few F and F1 around online, so just wondering, if I was considering (and still do) Color Kardan 45s instead of field folder (for landscapes/ architecture, i.e. short distance hikes out of the car), perhaps Sinar F or F1 will be as good as this Linhof in portability (and usability) ?

What do you say ?

Images
    I have no experience with the linhoff but the F1 is way portable. It folds down quite nicely and sets up about as fast as my feild camera. It is lighter than my field camera as well. I have a Prinzdorff field camera.
    Technological society has succeeded in multiplying the opportunities for pleasure, but it has great difficulty in generating joy. Pope Paul VI

So, I think the "greats" were true to their visions, once their visions no longer sucked. Ralph Barker 12/2004

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    If you're comparing it to something like a Linhof monorail other than the Technikardan, then sure the F is portable. The Alpina and F were designed for the field and the Norma and P for the studio.

You can unclip the bellows at one end, turn both standards parallel to the rail, and make it flat for transport, and with the detents it's pretty quick to set back up, and while it's not the lightest camera out there, you could decide that the conveniences of the Sinar are worth a couple extra pounds.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/
    Photography (not as up to date as the flickr site)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com/photo
    Academic (Slavic and Comparative Literature)--http://www.davidagoldfarb.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Thank you David, Mark.