Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,501   Posts: 1,571,712   Online: 954

laz
    Shooter
    Multi Format

280mm series V.B. Cooke Process Anastigmat Lens

I could just ask Jim Gallie but......

Before I became really serious about LF I was knocking around on ebay and on a whim bid a huge definantly non-field 8x10 that, if good for nothing else it, came with a couple of dozen 5x7 and 8x10 film holders I figured were worth more than the camera. (of course once I had the holders I [i]had to have a 8x10 field didn't I ?)

Anyway it came with a 280mm series V.B. Cooke Process Anastigmat Lens. I was looking at it this morning and saw that it has an ajustable slit on the barrel between the elements. As a LF newbie I'm baffled. What is it for?

Thanks,
    Bob

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Many process lenses have such a slit. It is adjustable so that it can be closed (to exclude light) when not in use. The slit accepts a variety of Waterhouse stops.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Heh, I wanted to write something completely different, guessing about Waterhouse stops or miissing diaphragm lever, but here's what it is - straight from the horse's mouth:

"Cooke process lenses made after the early 1920s were provided with a removable lens-hood that could be covered with a leather cap. The screw thread that attaches the hood could alternatively receive any process prism fitted with the standard screw. Process Prisms are extremely rare now and are the stuff of museums instead of Ebay. An iris diaphragm was provided at that time instead of the stops with circular openings. A narrow slot in the lens barrel near the front of the lens could receive process diaphragms or gel filters (of graphic arts quality) if desired. The slot can be opened and closed by revolving the inscription tube."

- cited from: