Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,571   Posts: 1,545,608   Online: 988

Shooter
    Multi Format

Schlepping Miss Norma -- soft bag for a 5x7?

Greetings all,

I'm relatively new to LF, having finally fulfilled a decade long
    fantasy just over a year ago with a class and camera. My current
    rig, not quite complete (I'd still like a 300mm Fuji or Nikon), is a 5x7
    Norma.

I'm mostly happy with the camera, but the box is a PITA, as it
    weighs more than the camera, a lens and half a dozen holders
    put together.

When I took my class, the instructor had a soft case for his Toyo,
    and it seemed like a good idea -- even if the weight saving were
    nil, the comfort while carrying would be worth it.

I'm looking for recommendations for something along these lines,
    or other transport options for that matter, that would work for
    my camera. I'm happy with a 3 package setup: Tripod and head,
    satchel w/ holders, dark cloth, meter, etc.. and camera in bag, so it
    needn't be a large trunk. Mobility and protection are more important
    than getting everything in one box/bag. I guess I fall into the "within
    xxx of the car" crowd, where xxx could be some small number of
    miles on a good day.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much,

Steve

PS. The first time I put a [4x5 even] neg in my 'new' enlager, I just about
    melted, even though it wasn't worth much pictorially. I'm hooked. ;-)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Congrats on getting one of the best view cameras ever. I've had the 4x5 and it's great.