Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,919   Posts: 1,584,800   Online: 1115

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Shutterless Russian Cameras from Ukranians

I've been looking at these (FKD?) 13x18cm cameras that are so cheap on Ebay. Just wondering:

How hard is it to get a decent exposure with no shutter?

Can these cameras be retrofit with more modern lenses with Copal shutters?

If it's not obvious, I have no experience with LF, but I'm considering it.

Thank you,
    Matt

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I know several people that have retro fitted with newer lenses with shutters, Ole has a couple of FKD's if I am not mistaken.

R.

Shooter
    35mm
    It may be a safe bet to conclude that Ole has more than one of almost anything photographic.
    Claire (Ms Anne Thrope is in the darkroom)

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I object!

I have only one FKD, and that's a 30x40cm model.

I do however have one 24x30cm, one 18x24cm and two 13x18cm plate cameras of similar design although these are "originals": German cameras from between 1870 and 1930.

The cameras are good! Front movements are limited to rise/fall and shift, both on the lensboard. Rear movements are about 10 degrees each of swing and tilt. While I have been in situations where I need more movements, these are rare.

Exposure without a shutter is really a question of stopping down far enough to use a hat as a shutter. It works - f:64 on a cloudy day is turning into my standard exposure with these cameras.

Any lens in any shutter can be mounted, it's just a question of making lensboards. Come to think of it - I still haven't used the lens that came with my FKD! I put a universal iris lens mount on it, and used an Angulon 210mm instead. That mount is now back on the camera it came on, and I haven't used the 30x40cm FKD since...