Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,523   Posts: 1,572,297   Online: 831

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Field 4X5 recommendations

Hi, I'm fairly new to the APUG and wanted to get some feedback on what is considered a decent 4x5 field camera. Most of my work to date has been with a Hasselblad and all is nature/landscape and flowers. I'd like to find something less than $1000. Most of my work with MF is with Velvia and Pan-X. Thanx for your time.
    Bob

Shooter
    Large Format
    I love my Toyo 45AII but I am teaching my wife to shoot 4X5 and I realy like her Wista. I see them on ebay as low as $650.00 in good shape.
    DIGITAL IS FOR THOSE AFRAID OF THE DARK.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

4x5

I'll second the wista. I've owned one for over 20 years (zone VI version) and all it ever needed was a new bellows. Great lightweght camera. Only 12 inches of bellows; but hey...very well made. Will last a lifetime. I can carry it and 3 lenses with holders in a zone vi bag and it weighs nothing. Great for traveling on planes too.
    Best, Peter

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Ivy
    Hi, I'm fairly new to the APUG and wanted to get some feedback on what is considered a decent 4x5 field camera. Most of my work to date has been with a Hasselblad and all is nature/landscape and flowers. I'd like to find something less than $1000. Most of my work with MF is with Velvia and Pan-X. Thanx for your time.
    Bob
    A new Shen-Hao, used Wista or new or used Tachihara are well within budget. A used Zone VI camera is usually also well under $1000. I also got my Toyo AII (a metal field camera which I like for it's smoothness) for under $1000. Linhof Technika 4 is also often under $1000 or close.