Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,688   Posts: 1,548,690   Online: 1217

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tripod for 4x5

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I searched through the postings for any mention of tripods with large format cameras and came up with nothing. Do you have any suggestions for an inexpensive tripod to use with a 4x5 monorail. I already have the Bogen 3221 (it's black, so it may be the 3221 or something like that), but I don't know if it will be strong enough. I'm hoping to get a more expensive tripod in the future (I'm a student and need to get rid of my credit card debt first), but need something to shoot with now. Should I just use the 3221 and set aside some $$$ every month and get a heavier gitzo, ries, berlebach, etc...?

Jeremy
    Let's see what I've got in the magic trash can for Mateo!

blog
    website

I have been using a Bogen 3021 for years and have found it to be more than adequate. I have used it with both a monorail (Cambo 45NX) and a field camera (Tachihara 4x5). I use it with a 3030 head which is on the small side but has worked great for me. I use the same tripod and head with my 4x5 and my medium format camera.

Sherman

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    If you've got an adequate head, it's probably enough. I had a 3030 head, but I found the QR system wobbly. You might want to go up one size or consider a Gitzo low-profile 3-way pan head, probably a 1370, which is not too outrageously priced at Robert White.