Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,678   Posts: 1,482,065   Online: 799

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hood?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm not sure of the proper term, but I'm wondering what some of you use for the hood you hide under while viewing your images through the ground glass.

I'm very new to LF and in the very few photographs I've taken, I've simply used a black sweatshirt with the neck over the film holder. This can get quite hot on summer days (as I discovered at Smith Rock near Bend, OR this past summer).

I tried using a t-shirt but it really wasn't dark enough and it wasn't very easy to really see the image. Thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I believe you are refering to a dark cloth. Some people buy them, which can cost about 30 or so dollars depending on the brand. Those usually have velcro or somethign to secure the cloth around the back of the camera. I acutally use a piece of thick cloth bought at wal mart in the fabric dept. its really two pieces sewn together. One side black, the other white. I cost 4 bucks.
    RL Foley

Quote Originally Posted by David Ruby
    ...I'm wondering what some of you use for the hood...
    I call mine "Vito." :whistle:
    Three degrees of separation from Kevin Bacon.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It's called a focusing cloth. I use an old one made and sold by Zone VI - Calumet may still sell them. There are other commercially made ones.

Some people go to the fabric store and buy the cloth that's made to go on the back side of drapes - it's called blackout cloth or something like that. It's supposed to be fairly lightweight and light proof. They sew their own.

I don't know of anything that helps with the heat, though. I'm in Florida, so I know what you mean.