Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,556   Posts: 1,545,064   Online: 998

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Need 8x10 wide lens advice.

hello all. i am new to 8x10 (came from 4x5 and mamiya 7ii). I bought an 1980s vintage deardorff with 5 lenses for 2300usd, and i have a selection of lenses that i will keep. But the 165mm schneider if way too heavy and will most likely sell.
    what i need help with i what are good wide lenses that are not too heavy for 8x10?

thanks all!

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I assume that 165mm Schneider is a Super Angulon, since you find it too heavy?

I use a 165mm Angulon, which however has a sligjt problem with 8x10 except at very small stops. It's really a 18x24cm lens. In the same series the 210mm Angulon is less wide, but provides plenty of coverage.
    -- Ole Tjugen, Luddite Elitist
    Norway

Images
    These two are nice wides for 8x10, and they are quite small.
    159mm (6-1/4") Wollensak
    9-1/2 Dagor

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The tiny WA Protar's are excellent, I have Ross version a 151mm f16, it's tiny and despite it's maximum aperture of f16 remarkably easy to focus, it has room for movements on 10x8. The Zeiss version is f18, other focal lenghts were available. Ross and Zeiss shared some technology/designs etc pre-WWI, the WA Protar is a Zeiss Patent design that uses technology licensed from Ross. Some are marked EWA.

My Ross lens is a fraction maybe 1-2% of the weight of my 165mm SA

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The little Wolly is a lovely lens, and gives lots of performance for a small, inexpensive lens. But it doesn't offer much coverage beyond 8x10, and needs to be stopped down. But it IS very good in the field !