Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,745   Posts: 1,515,635   Online: 880

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Large Format Aesthetics

I'm mainly a people/advertising style photographer, similar in vein to this kind of stuff:
    http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/7...rrie1231ge.jpg

however this semester at my college I have to take an LF class and use an 8x10 camera.

My concern is that 8x10, suits a much different style and aesthetic than I'm used to. And thinking about the ultra sharp clarity of LF it seems you'd have to have a different approach to fashion photography, like it'd be more about the clarity and focus of the image rather than the shapes.
    anyways does anybody have experience or suggestions about fashion shooting on 8x10 - notable photographers? BTW I don't like Dave Lachapelle or Gregory Crewdson style -- so just a heads up.
    thanks

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Avedon.
    Photographs by Richard M. Coda
    my blog
    "Speak softly and carry an 8x10."

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    You may have look at the recent book of Jim Rakete, "1/8 sec". He's a German photographer, which made the portraits for this book with an 8x10 camera.
    http://www.art-magazin.de/kunst/3393.html
    The text is in German but you may be more interested in the pictures anyway.

Ulrich

PS the pictures are of German celebrities mostly

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by rcoda View Post
    Avedon.
    Yep! First one that came to my mind.

Quote Originally Posted by aatonpanavision View Post
    My concern is that 8x10, suits a much different style and aesthetic than I'm used to.
    That may be the point. Academic settings often make artists do something they are not used to, or that they do not want to do.
    David