Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,685   Posts: 1,548,576   Online: 1211

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I am moving to an area that is a large formats shooters dream as far as I think others may think other wise. But I don't have 1000's of dollars to get restarted in this endiver but want a few basic things like cameras, darkroom basic's (contact printer etc.). I have 2 1/4 35mm and a broken digital. What am I looking at? are there decient 4x5 8x10's out there cheap? I don't mind refinishing wood or metal.
    I am a pastor of a very small church so I don't have a lot of extra cash to spend right now. I do mainly B&W out door shots still to this day (been shooting for 43 years). So any ideas or help would make my day.

Pastor Paul
    photog@hush.ai
    The only thing that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing!

There's a ton of second hand LF gear around, and plenty of it is cheap. What's your realistic budget? Given that you've got MF already, do you have a decent tripod?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    You can get started for around $500 with a Speed Graphic, older (heavy) monorail, or one of the more basic woodfields, and a normal lens. You can process film in trays, which you probably already have if you do your own darkroom work. You'll need a light meter (but you can use the meter in your 35mm camera for now), a darkcloth, and a tripod (a Tiltall or something of similar character will support most 4x5" field cameras, maybe something a little heavier for a bigger monorail). If you make contact prints for now, all you need is a clean sheet of glass and a slab of foam rubber. Later on, if you need an enlarger, you can find something like an Omega D2 for a few hundred dollars. Darkroom equipment is cheap these days.
    flickr--http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidagoldfarb/