Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,960   Posts: 1,523,097   Online: 995

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Calumet verus Graphic ViewII

I am fairly new to 4x5 and bought a Graphic View II with a 210mm lens
    I enjoy using it and it works great. I just bought a Calumet 540 with a Caltar II-n 210 mm with a compendium lens shade w/filter drawer.
    Now iam not sure which one to keep? I have not used the Calumet as of yet
    I do mostly outside landscape pictures. Is one camera better then they other?
    Any help would be great

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try both and see which one you like better. For landscape I'd have looked for a field camera but that's a different issue -)

Shooter
    Large Format
    I agree with Nick. If you don't need the money and they are not taking up too much space, then use both until you decide which one better suits your needs. I know nothing about the Calument. I had a Graphic View II and discovered that it is not easy to pack up and move around. Also, it doesn't like short focal length lenses. With my 90mm Super Angulon, the bellows was really cramped and didn't allow for much movement. I had to get a recesssed board and the Compur shutter on the Super Angulon barely fit, making it hard to adjust.

If your main interest is landscape, then I would sell both and get a field camera, probably with a 90mm lens, or something in that range.
    "The beauty and profundity of God is more real than any mere calculation"

Shooter
    Large Format
    I would use both alot on the same subjects and see which felt more instinctive to use. That's the one to keep. If you like wide angle hunt down a Calumet wide #402. I bought one in mint condition for a hundred bucks a few years ago. It's a dream for wide angles up to 135mm but it will focus up to a 190mm lens at around 50 feet.

Shooter
    Multi Format