Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,567   Posts: 1,573,481   Online: 750

Thread: LF lens ?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

LF lens ?

I am a administrator of a photography program in Vancouver,B.C. And we receive donations rarely but I have one that I really don't know what it could be used for. It is a Wollensak 8.25" 210 mm f/6.8 Graphic Raptar Wide Field Lens on a 5"X5" metal lens board with .25 holes in each corner.
    I have been doing research on Wollensak lenes and the ones for a LF camera have a shutter with the lens. The one I have doesn't have a shutter on it. I thought it might be an enlarger lens but the 210 mm kind of blows that idea out of the water. And I have read that Raptar and Raptor are two different quality of lens as well.
    What I was wondering could this be a start of a construction gig for the winter or is it a lens to leave sitting in my drawer or use as a paper weight?
    Your learned advice will be appreciated. Thanks: Dennis S.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    I'm no expert but I do know it's from a large reprographic system that used a large electronically controlled behind-the-lens shutter. These can also be used with any Packard-type shutter. It should be a very good performer up to at least 8x10 at infinity.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    If you have a Sinar with the Sinar shutter you could use it: from back to front:

rear standard <> bellows <> Sinar shutter <> front standard <> this lens

These lenses were designed for the close range but can be used for portraits on 4x5 inch among things.
    You would have to experiment a bit with it: mount it on a 8x10 camera with a slow film and use a "hat" shutter.
    For experiments it does not have to be fancy.

It is a good lens, so worth it.

Peter

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by archphoto View Post