Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,553   Posts: 1,544,958   Online: 785

Thread: Getting started

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Getting started

Hi everybody,

Well, as mentioned in my introductionary mail, I am very new in LF 4x5 photography and I am spending hours reading this forum and the one we have here in France (www.galerie-photo.com) both are very informative but i must say I am sometimes very confused especially with speed/depth settings
    I own an Arca Swiss F line classic 171x171, which i think is a quite nice camera, with an APO 150/5.6 and a 300/9 Nikon lenses. I miss a WA lens though but this will have to wait for a while that money comes back in

I am more interested into color and landscape and architecture things.

Anyway, the best would be to find somedody willing to show me the basic tricks, watching him in order to learn but I can't find people proposing that, nor can find workshops in Paris neighborhood... LF is not that common apparently in France compare to the US

Anyway, first comments after few attempts:
    - I messed up bad when loading the film holders but that's quite common the first times
    - I've tried some shootings that were not that bad (i am too kind with myself): right focussing, the front tilts worked ok and nicely detailed (i love it) but colors looked very pale to me and i don't understand why (Fuji Pro 160S sent to a well known Paris lab). When i look to some of your pictures, altough of course you all are pros and well experienced, i don't know how this can be so luminescent... I am sure i do not understand the settings (light measurement/speed/etc...)

Would appreciate your help/advices in the getting started phase.

Thanks!

YOP

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    hey yop,

i'm not in paris, but the basics of 4x5 are very simple...