Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,523   Posts: 1,572,270   Online: 757

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mystery Camera

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Mystery Camera

I recently bought an 8x10 camera on craigslist. The woman who sold it to me said that her husband had bought it at an auction and there are no markings on the camera itself. The lens is a Kodak and the body is wood.

I have a tiny bit of experience with 4x5 but it's been a few years and it was a Speed Graphic. I'm brand new to all of this.

It's more curiosity than anything. It would be nice to know the specs on it if the information is available somewhere.

Does anyone have a guess?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_8775web.jpg   IMG_8779web.jpg   IMG_8780web.jpg  
    Last edited by jolynned; 08-26-2009 at 11:50 AM. Click to view previous post history.
    ~Jodi~

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    This camera can be found with either Ansco or B&J labels on it. A serviceable camera although heavy and bulky.
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS]Films NOT Dead - Just getting fixed![/FONT]

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Thanks Jim. Unfortunately, there are no labels anywhere on the camera. It looks like had been a label at the top but it has been removed. I'll look at your suggestions though and see if any of their cameras match up to this one.
    ~Jodi~

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    It is a good looking camera, do you have any filmholders with it ?
    And a tripod for it ?

If the bellows is light-tight: make some shots with it and see what comes out!

Congrad's !

Peter

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Jim, you were right. It's a B&J. A quick google image search was all it took. Thanks for the help!
    ~Jodi~

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images