Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,916   Posts: 1,584,724   Online: 754

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Ensign "Popular Reflex" Repair

Hello everyone.
    A few months ago I bought this fabulous "ENSIGN Popular Reflex" (1920?)
    It is in excellent cosmetic shape, but inside it has some problems.
    A curtain is missing, but in general appears to have a future.
    The rollers have tension if I roll up.
    But the problem is I can not deduct how the curtains sewn each other whit the cloth tape, and how long the tape should be…
    I'm not a camera repairman, I'm just an amateur with a nice camera that I would like to work ... I had success repairing a “Reflex Korelle”, and I thought, why not with the old ensign. (Should be easier, but in the korelle there was no missing parts)
    So any help is welcome, drawings, diagrams, sketches, anything!
    Best Regards.
    Luciano from Argentina.

PD: I Upload some images to those who wants to help
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg   2.jpg   3.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG

Somewhere I've posted a link to repairing shutters like this. My laptop died 2 weeks ago and I'm not straight yet but I have saved not only the links but the pages as well (from a partial PDF - not savable/downloadable).

It's relatively easy to make a new curtain there's patterns in the book, not sure if it covers the Houghton sgutters, it should.

These shutters work in two ways:

1. A single curtain made up of a number of slits, you wind the right bit into position. Graflex's etc

2. A pair of curtains so more complex. Moving seperately like modern cloth SLR shutters.