Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,012   Posts: 1,524,700   Online: 844

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Images

Best Wide Angle bang for one's respective currency

I am very new to LF photography. I have a 150mm lens and am looking for something on the wide side. Any suggestions for a used lens to look for out there?

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewH
    I am very new to LF photography. I have a 150mm lens and am looking for something on the wide side. Any suggestions for a used lens to look for out there?
    are you talking 4x5, 8x10, etc...
    hi!

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    If you're main lens is a 150mm, I'll guess you're shooting 4x5".

A single-coated Schneider 90/8.0 Super-Angulon from the 1970s can be a nice lens (I have one) for $200-300, depending on condition and shutter. Avoid the ones in 00 shutters if you can, since it's hard to find lensboards for that size.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have a 90 and it quite nice used. The widest practical I think without breaking the bank is a 65mm Super Angulon. I got mine for a little over $300 used and it's worth every penny. You have to be careful using it though or you will get the front end of your focusing rail in the shot.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewH
    i agree wholeheartedly with the previous posts ...
    if you are looking at schneider lenses, a handy link is this:
    http://www.schneideroptics.com/info/age_of_lenses/
    the lens serial # is located on the front cell, and with the above link, you can figure out what year of manufacture it was ...
    besides a hard to find lensboard hole, if you have fingers bigger than a child's, you'll have trouble adjusting fstops &C without a pen or something to stick in there.

Shooter
    Multi Format