Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,546   Posts: 1,572,982   Online: 931

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

replacemnt ground glass

Hi

there was once a fellow making ground glass replacements under the name of Satin Snow. I understand that these are now unavailable.

As a 4x5 photographer myself I have been wondering about a replacement ground glass for my 4x5 (which is a Toho) and began looking about.

I was also talking with a friend of mine who does laser etching and cutting and asked if he could make one up for me as a one off. Since his gear is computer CNC type stuff it would then of course be no more trouble for him to make thousands of them (after he has made one). Which lead me to wonder if there remains a market of interest for this sort of product.

So, anyone know if there is any market (world wide) for a ground glass maker?
    Theory: you understand why it should work but it doesn't
    Practice: it works but you have no idea how
    Here theory and practice meet, things don't work and I don't know why
    Homepages: here Blog: here

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    It would be a niche market at best. Practice making them until your process is perfected and then produce a few dozen and market them. It will be slow at first and probably won't pick up much so don't expect to make a mint for a long time. But you could become a go to guy in a dying art. Make ground glasses, that is.
    Thank you.
    CWalrath
    APUG BLIND PRINT EXCHANGE
    DE Darkroom

"Wubba, wubba, wubba. Bing, bang, bong. Yuck, yuck, yuck and a fiddle-dee-dee." - The Yeti

Shooter
    Multi Format
    With the article just posted about making ground glasses by Ian Grant I don't see why anyone would bother to buy one. Looks so easy.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Hi