Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,904   Posts: 1,555,836   Online: 789

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

getting started in 4x5

I am new to LF and would like to buy a 4x5 but I don't know which brand would be best to start with-any suggestions?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    A working Speed Graphic or Crown Graphic is a good choice. Tons out there for under $300.00. Or, if you want something not as portable, get an old Calumet 4x5.

Here is a link to one. Again they are cheap and plentiful.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...828806418&rd=1

I have one. Works great.
    Official Photo.net Villain
    ----------------------
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS]DaVinci never wrote an artist's statement...[/FONT]

Shooter
    Sub 35mm
    Hello Gary,

I just entered the 4x5 world and I went with a Shen-Hao from badgergraphic.com. I bought it about a month ago and it is just a new way of seeing.

You can get a compelte kit for a good price and the camera is really nice! I have no regrets with the camera at all!

http://www.badgergraphic.com/search_product2.asp?x=2594

Again, great camera.

Kev

Shooter
    Large Format
    Best source for info is Q Tuang Luong's Large Format Website 4X5 is an in-between size - generally considered too small for contact printing but of size negative that requires a step-up in enlargers.
    Also check out past issues of View Camera magazine - Sept 2002, January 2003 articles on 4X5 cameras.
    van Huyck Photo
    "Progress is only a direction, and it's often the wrong direction"

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images