Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,034   Online: 1170

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Erko 9x12cm folding camera

I bought this morning an Erko 'Freital' folding camera
    includes 3 film or glass holders, there is also a groundglass(?)with holder. Shutter & speed are working smoothly; mayby not correct,
    but who cares with a camera from......(1929)?
    No lightleaks I think. I've no experience with film this size or glass negatives. This all the info I have. Is there anybody out there who can help me with some information ?

thanks

http://www.flickr.com/photos/77846450@N00/5123593548/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Plate holders need film inserts which are standard, (like the plate size) but hard to find, unfortunately plate holders themselves aren't standard so you need to be careful to get the right type (edge fit/length etc) if you want more.

Film's easy to get in Europe, an APUG sponsor Fomafoto in Norway is a good source of 9x12 Foma films, Fotoimpex (Adox) is another.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Beautiful camera!

This discussion might lend some help with regards to film size... http://www.largeformatphotography.in...ad.php?t=63589

You could probably try to use 4x5" film, maybe trimmed a bit in the dark beforehand.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It's one of the large family of plate cameras in this size. The holders may have sheaths in them to hold film; if not, the sheaths can be found or made. From the picture, it looks like the camera is in good shape and might make a fine shooter.