Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,536,034   Online: 987

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

developing 4x5 sheet film

i'm new to LF and i use at the moment a jobo tank/ reel to develop the films. The reel can keep up to 6 sheets and the tanks need 1.5 liter to develop (never mind if inside is one sheet or 6 sheets).
    I'm wandering if there is the possibility to develop using less solution. Most of the time I do not have 6 sheets to develop but only 2 or 4 and 1500 cc is really a lot.
    Thanks for your help

marco

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    not exactly sure how the jobo tanks work but every tank ive seen you need to fill it to capacity to evenly deelop the film, regardless of the amount of film. If you only have 1 or 2 sheets to develop maybe try tray processing.

The point of the tank being full is that the 1 or 2 sheets you have in the tank need to be covered with developer at all times or else youll get very uneven development.

Bodies: 1DIII, RZ ProII, Walker Titan 45
    Other: CanoScan 8800F

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by MarcoGiardini View Post
    I'm wandering if there is the possibility to develop using less solution.
    If you have the typical 25xx Jobo tank with the 2509 reel, you can do manual rolling and only use ~300ml of developer. However, this would require you to keep rolling the tank for as long as the development process takes place.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    My Jobo 2000 tanks only need 1 litre per 6 sheet reel, I use Pyrocat HD which works out very economic even with that volume of dev.