Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,296   Posts: 1,535,706   Online: 928

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Carbon Fiber Tripods - Water & Ice?

Hi there,

I've never used a carbon fiber tripod before, and I'm wondering how they would do in watery and wintery conditions with my 4x5 gear.

When it's been bucketing rain all day, does water get into the leg segments and make it hard to adjust them?

If you set up in a stream, will the leg segments freeze together afterwards in below freezing conditions?

I used to use a Tiltall with medium format gear decades ago and don't remember having any issues, but from what I've read so far the carbon fiber legs seem to have a really snug fit inside each other.

Basically, does yours perform well no matter how wet, cold, mucky, or grimy the conditions get?

Murray

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Any thing will freeze if gotten wet then subjected to freezing temps without drying thoroughly.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Yeah but, with my wooden tripod all it takes is a whack or two to get it unstuck.

I have a "lightweight" Zone VI, and the top of the tripod that's made of thick plywood delaminated on me and I had to replace it with an aluminum plate. Too many years strapped to the deck of a sea kayak and being dragged through the forest in the rain. I also had to ditch the plastic tightening knobs on the legs and replace them with metal wing nuts...if I forgot to loosen the legs they would sometimes soak up so much water from the rain that it was impossible to loosen them by hand, and had to pound the knobs with a rock to get them loose.

Would a carbon fiber tripod be too 'finicky' for the kind of abuse I'd give it?

Murray

edp

Shooter
    Multi Format