Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,829   Posts: 1,582,148   Online: 1080

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Processing 4x5 film?

I have lots of experience processing B&W film so this question relates to the equipment needed to process 4x5 sheet film. I have tanks and reels to process roll film and know how to use them.
    If you had no, LF tank, LF tubes etc to process sheet film and could start fresh, what type of processing tank, tray or tube would you invest in.
    I have seen some videos for the BTZS tubes that seem easy to make and use. Of course I can use my trays that I develop my prints in.

looking for your favorite method?
    "Generalizations are made because they are generally true"
    Flicker http://www.flickr.com/photos/stradibarrius
    Barry
    Monroe, GA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You could try with open trays. Of course it requires total darkness, but you will have total control of the process and you don't have to buy anything right now (I assume that you have some darkroom stuff already).
    That said, a daylight tank is nice (but in my experience more risky).

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Paterson Orbital would be my first choice, unfortunately no longer in production and probably as rare as rocking horse poo in the USA.
    Second choice would be a Jobo 2500 tank with a 2509 reel. The third choice would be a set of three Combiplan tanks so that I could run a small dip'n'dunk line.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I develope in an AP brand plastic two reel tank ala "taco" method. I have a daylight tank that holds 12 sheets, but I usually only shoot two or four sheets at any time, so it just sits.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    hey barry,

i process most all my sheets in a tray by shuffling them ..