Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,536,064   Online: 918

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Should I buy this lens?

I bought a Burke and James Grover 5x7 back in January, and she still needs a lens. I've been paitiently saving up a bit of cash and watching that auction site for a while, and I think I'm ready to make a purchase. Now all I need is a bit of advice from you LF experts here. I found this lens (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT), and it seems promising to me. Does anyone know anything about this lens? I'd like to hear from anyone who has any experience with it before I buy

BTW, I'm a LF newbie
    "I have captured the light and arrested its flight! The sun itself shall draw my pictures!"

-Louis Daguerre, 1839-

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    hi el

i don't have a 210, but have a 150 g claron i use as an enlarger lens
    ... once in a blue moon when i do copy work i put it on my speed graphic.
    it is f9 like the one you linked to and isn't the easiest lens to focus.

i imagine you have hopes to use it at infinity ?
    from what i remember it is best for that sort of thing
    unless you are doing copy work or enlargements / macro work.

if you have your heart set on this particular lens, you might hunt for one
    in a barrel, and also hunt for a polaroid tominon type lens in a prontor shutter
    there is no machining necessary ( from what i remember ) and you can screw the
    elements right into the shutter and figure out your fstops ( measure your iris + divide into your focal length ) .. very easy.
    i mention hunting for one because you can probably find one and a separate shutter for a bit less than
    that one ....

another you may think about would be a schneider symmar convertible ...