Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,338   Posts: 1,537,710   Online: 780

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Photagraphy's first lens, the Wollaston Meniscus

Since I started playing with meniscus lenses a while ago, I've learned that they were the first true lenses designed for photography. Back in 1812, a chap named William Wollaston layed the groundwork for the glass we use today.

It's a super simple design and gives a fascinating peek back to the early days of putting an image onto a piece of paper. Here are two examples taken with my 5x7 Deardorff using my 250 mm lens, One was wide open at f:5.6, and the other was stopped down to f:16. Both are appealing examples of photography over 100 years ago.

Here's the lens that I used:
    http://www.apug.org/forums/forum379/...scus-lens.html

Reinhold
    www.classicBWphoto.com
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Gazebo250PMN@f5.6..170.jpg   Gazebo 250pmn@f16..155.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Very interesting indeed.

This raises an interesting question... what types of lenses were used on camera obscuras back in 17th-18th century?
    If you are the big tree, we are the small axe

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Wow! What would be really interesting is to see:

a pinhole
    This lens wide open, stopped down
    A modern 250(ish)mm wide open, stopped down

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I can't give you a source at the moment since my books are packed away for our upcoming move. But there were compound lenses used in the camera obscura. There were even designs to rectify the inverted image without the use of mirrors. One book that comes to mind was a book about Ver Meer's use of the camera obscura. It may have been called Ver Meer's Camera.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images