Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,908   Posts: 1,584,615   Online: 871

Shooter
    Med. Format RF

4X5 sheet films safe device

Hi everybody,

I'm relatively new in LF photography.
    I want to know what do you use to protect film when you remove them from negative holders but you are not ready to process them? I saw some boxes from B&H but the smallest was something like 8 X 10. Is there some specific device to conserve 4X5 sheet film before processing? I already bought a changing bag.

Thank you for suggedtions

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Freestyle has opaque black plastic bags and white cardboard outer envelopes. They're sold for mailing but work great for this. I have one for each type of film and different processing so, for example, when I unload film I can't process yet it will go into black plastic bags that are then put into envelopes labeled "TMY N-1" or "Foma 400 N" or whatever. Cheap, easy and effective:

I use the bags made for 4x5 but put them in 5x7 envelopes because they don't seem to have 4x5 envelopes:

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/4135-B...for-Mailer-4x5

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/4120-P...ite-Mailer-5x7

Oh yes, in spite of what the description says, I've found that the black plastic IS light tight if carefully folded over and sealed. It's hard to get it sealed unless it's held closed by the envelope though because tapes I've tried won't stick to the plastic reliably.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I just use empty three part film boxes.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Empty three-way boxes that the film comes in.
    Obviously, when just starting out, you won't have spare empty boxes.
    I was unsuccessful in finding empty boxes when I started into LF, so I made my own from shoe boxes and duct tape.