Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,914   Posts: 1,521,749   Online: 1068

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Beginner 8x10-on-eBay question

I am very new at this, but think I would like to make the jump to LF 8x10 in the future. Thinking along these lines, I have begun to watch eBay. I am curious how, as experienced LF photogs, you would look at an auction like the one below and begin to evaluate this used camera. What kind of questions about the camera would you be asking the seller?

http://tinyurl.com/7ybr4

(I am thinking here more along the lines of actually evaluating the camera than trying to prevent eBay fraud. I have bought enough through them to understand how to protect myself.)

Shooter
    Large Format
    Quote Originally Posted by ghinson
    I am very new at this, but think I would like to make the jump to LF 8x10 in the future. Thinking along these lines, I have begun to watch eBay. I am curious how, as experienced LF photogs, you would look at an auction like the one below and begin to evaluate this used camera. What kind of questions about the camera would you be asking the seller?

(I am thinking here more along the lines of actually evaluating the camera than trying to prevent eBay fraud. I have bought enough through them to understand how to protect myself.)
    If I were considering this camera I would ask the seller these questions:

1. Are the bellows guaranteed light tight?

2. Are there any separations is the bed of the camera

3. Are the geared tracks in good shape (no noticeable wear or stripped teeth)

4. Is there any signs of wood separation elsewhere on the camera?

5. What shape is the plating on the metal of this camera (cosmetic only)

6. Is there any noticeable wear on the back latches?

7. Are the back springs tight?