Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,685   Posts: 1,548,569   Online: 1196

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Shutter-Speed-Tester for your iPhone

Hello,

I'm a 19 year old student from germany and I wrote a small application for the iPhone wich might be interesting to some of you !
    It is called "Shutter-Speed" and it allows you to measure the shutter speed of your camera by analyzing the shutter-release-sound.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Shutter_Speed_Lomo_small.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	57644

After you recorded the shutter-release-sound, the app will display the waveform of this sound. Opening and Closing of the shutter produces two peaks, as you can see in the picture. From the distance between those peaks, the app calculates the shutter-speed and also tells you the deviation from the target value. Afterwards you can save your measurement.
    More information here: http://www.echolot-online.de/Shutter-Speed.html

Best results can be obtained from cameras with diaphragm shutter (like TLRs). SLRs or cameras with focal-plane shutter do also work, but they produce a more complex waveform, wich makes it difficult to measure shorter times than 1/60.

I compared the results from this app with an optical measurement and the values are much more exact than you might think, at least for times longer than 1/500.

I would be very happy if some of you try out this app

Link: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shutt...l=de&ls=1&mt=8

Best,
    Lukas

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Lukas, what a great idea for an app !! I was literally about to test the shutter in my newly acquired Mamiya Sekor 55mm TLR lens using my analog CRO when I read this post. One problem is that I am an Android devotee perhaps I'll borrow an iPhone for this , in fact I think I might....

Well done.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images