Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,211   Posts: 1,531,989   Online: 1110

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Wedding Photo Advice

I have been asked to photograph someones wedding, which is not really my thing. I would like to help out, but I'm a bit apprehensive because I have never done this sort of thing before. Does anyone have any advice?
    Thanks.

Shooter
    35mm
    get to know the place.
    Get to know the schedule.
    Make sure you have all the stuff you MIGHT need depenmding on light at a particular moment and stuff.
    Get a skivvie to help you.
    Charge stupid price.
    hth!

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by asegreti
    I have been asked to photograph someones wedding, which is not really my thing. I would like to help out, but I'm a bit apprehensive because I have never done this sort of thing before. Does anyone have any advice?
    Thanks.
    Several years ago I was a wedding photographer and made some money. I was pretty good at the artistic and technical side so my work was quite acceptable. I don't do it anymore. Why?

If the bride does not like you or she does but you annoy/irritate her on her wedding day, she will hate your photos. It doesn't matter how good they are. I'm not a great people person so I struggled with the bride relationship.

So if you must shoot the wedding, make sure the bride is happy with you. The groom is pretty much irrelevant. All of the portraits must feature the bride and everyone else is just furniture.

When shooting candids at the reception, shoot only family or very best friends. Shoot the cake cutting, toasts, money dance, bride dancing with father. If you see some schmoe dancing with a bimbo and nobody knows who they are but they're making quite a scene... don't take the shot. I guarantee you that later, nobody will buy a print.