Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,336   Posts: 1,537,569   Online: 1084

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

New flashbulb shipment, unexpected find.

I just picked up my 4th load of 500 flashbulbs. I go though about 50-100 a month so this is a much needed supply. Unfortunately this time they came packed loose and a mix of types in one box. I sorted out the B type bulbs and now are faced with sorting out the 26's and 5's. the Sylvania bulbs are marked with the bulb model on the glass, but the G-E are not.

Seems like there could be a mix of 5's and 26's and no way to designate which one are which other than to guess. The G-E Mfg. specs for each bulb states they they are the same physical size.

Anyone have any ideas?

Shooter
    Large Format
    I'm new to flashbulbs, so probably not a lot of help compared to your experience. I got bag of bulbs last month that looked like #5's, but saw a couple were marked as 6's (IIRC - the GE focal plane version).

I had a number of slightly different looking bulbs, so sorted by the exact look of ever detail. Then can try one of each type before shooting that batch. There is still the potential for a problem, but I haven't had one so far. It does appear that all of my GE #6's were marked on the bulb.

I could not see any obvious difference between the #5's and #6's. They looked different, in general but that seemed to be down to exact vintage. You'd think the difference is filament or wire would be obvious but I couldn't spot it.

BTW, what do you shoot with all those bulbs?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The last time I used flash bulbs was about fifty years ago,they were Phillips PF 100 that were as big as 150 watt light bulbs and had a very big guide number of around 220 as far as I remember.
    Ben

DBP

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images