Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,552   Posts: 1,544,908   Online: 915

Shooter
    35mm

Scanner Epson v500 or..?

Hello!

It's a bit that I'm shooting with my Pentax ME Super and after trying to develop negatives by my own, I would like to be more "independent" scanning them too, since having them scanned by labs is too expensive.

So, since I'm new to this, I would like to have your opinion and suggestions on what kind of scanner I should buy.
    After some research, I opted for the Epson v500, since with it I could do either 35mm and 6x6.

Hope you could help me!
    Thank you
    Gabriele

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    This thread should be moved to the Hybrid group.

That being said, sure, it's a good scanner and will work well for you.
    “You seek escape from pain. We seek the achievement of happiness. You exist for the sake of avoiding punishment. We exist for the sake of earning rewards. Threats will not make us function; fear is not our incentive. It is not death that we wish to avoid, but life that we wish to live.” - John Galt

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Also, check out the Epson 4490, pretty much the same thing as the V500, and they're cheap these days. I got a fairly usable 2000 DPI scanning out of mine. basically 2000x3000 from a 35mm, and about 5000x5000 for 6x6. More than adequate for small prints and web usage.

I may be offering mine up, as don't do the hybrid thing myself anymore, as I rarely do color. Worked great for me, though!
    New-ish convert to film.
    Pentax MX for 35mm
    Bronica ETRS for 645

Shooter
    Multi Format