Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,719   Posts: 1,514,850   Online: 892

Shooter
    35mm

Prado 250 -- new to slide projectors

Hey all,

So I've been shooting slide film for the last two or three years, but have been viewing my slides with a loupe, and only just picked up my first projector. As far as I can tell, it's a Leitz Prado 250. It's great, but I'm having a really hard time finding documentation in the English language. I have a couple questions for the forum that I haven't been able to find answers to elsewhere. First, the Hektor lens it came with is no good. It's got bad haze, and I'm pretty sure it's killing the contrast of my projected images. Since I don't think I can save the lens, what sort of mount does it use, and what kind of lenses are compatible? Will I have to find a lens from another Leitz Prado? Is there anything I can probably get inexpensively? I like this projector -- it's otherwise in gorgeous shape, and is totally complete with original case. So if I can get a good lens that fits, I will be in business.

One other detail -- what type of bulb is correct for this unit? I've been able to glean that it's a 250-watt bulb, but I'm unsure beyond that.

Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope you're able to help.

Jordan

AgX

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You need lenses with 46mm thread. I doubt there are compatible lenses from other makes.
    The helical barrel, with the female thread, is exchangable with a special barrel for long focus lenses. These need another condenser too.

As the designation indicates it is a 250W lamp, tubular and running on mains. It got a bayonet fitting P28.
    It should be centered after exchange.