Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,521   Posts: 1,645,617   Online: 936

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Don't Trust Everything You Read On The Internet, or: 2 Myths of the Biogon Lens

These stuff are known to many people in this forum, but I didn't find any concise summary, so here goes. Note that I am not a lens designer, I just like to look at pretty pictures, so if there are errors in this post, my apology in advance.

It is often said that the Biogon lens is a "near symmetrical" design. Plus, a well known blogger wrote "..the Mamiya (7) 43mm is a copy of the better, original 10 element Biogon..." this quote by Ken Rockwell has been repeated many times, usually leaving off the end of his sentence: "...first used in the 75mm f/4.5 lens for view cameras."

So first of all, is the Biogon a "near-symmetrical" design? Here's the Biogon diagram from the 1954 patent application. You can see Mr. Bertele signature:

I am not a lens designer, and while the two halves look sort of similar in overall profile, one has to squint a lot to say that the halves are symmetrical. Certainly, I highly doubt the lens would image correctly if you swap the halves, which would be IMHO, a test for a true symmetrical design.

Here are two examples of symmetrical design:
    1) The Schneider Super Angulon large format lens

2) and the famous Dagor ("Double Anastigmatic Goerz"), also a large format lens

They are very symmetrical.

How about Mr. Rockwell's claim that the Mamiya 7 43mm is a better copy of the original 75mm Biogon? I can't find a separate lens diagram that shows the 75mm Biogon, but according to the Zeiss document, the initial batches of postwar-Biogon (21mm, 38mm, 53mm and 75mm) were designed at the same period, with no indication that they use different lens formulations. Here's the Biogon 38mm lens diagram: