Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,646   Posts: 1,481,272   Online: 839

Shooter
    Multi Format

GraLab 300 question:

Has anyone wired or modified a GraLab 300 timer to work with a foot switch?
    I have little experience with such things, I question weather it is even worth
    the trouble, but I have two brand new ones still factory sealed in their original boxes some twenty years ago. I can of course buy new ones that accept the foot switch but would like to use what I have. Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    Charles

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It would be easy with a few of the right parts. If you just want it to run while the foot switch was depressed it would wire in quite easily. To use the pedal to start and run the unit would require using a holding relay. Theres plenty of room in the box to add all you might think of using so have at it.
    Gary Beasley

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I may be wrong.. not entirely sure - but I could swear I saw foot switches for the GraLab 300's for sale, made by the company itself. Can anyone confirm or otherwise?

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images
    Hi Charles

I have tried over the years to use a foot switch. I hate them!
    trying to find the little bugger when you are doing multiple exposures and burns is difficult. I move my body a lot over the easal when burning I find a foot switch a major pain in the a.... to find if my feet move.
    If you are so inclined I would say an electrican could wire it up for you.

Shooter
    Large Format
    The Gralab 300 is electro mechanical, in my understanding, so it would appear to have a latching relay in the circuitry as it comes from the factory. If that is the case all that would be required would be to punch a hole in the side and, using a monentary normally open foot switch, wire into the circuit of the mechanical actuator.