Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,515   Online: 774

Thread: Polarizers

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Polarizers

Recently I've started to shoot a lot of color in MF and LF, and I have a cheap Rokunar polarziser that fits most of my lenses, but it is a POC, with a decided blue tinge. I've noticed that there are a lot of new polarizers, from Hoya and others, with special anti reflection coatings and anti-scratch coatings, but I have no experience with them. I'd prefer a neutral filter, but if not slightly warm is better than slightly cold. Any suggestions? My largest diameter lens is my 120 F8 super angulon with 82mm threads. 67mm would fit most of my other lenses.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What is a POC? The only guess I could come up with is Piece of Crap, and something tells me that is not what you meant.
    Charles Hohenstein

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Charles, you got it with the first try!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I got a Moose's warming circular polariser (Hoya, I think) in a bayonet fitting for my MF outfit. It has been very good.

Ian

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Have a B&W CPL MRC filter, is neutral (Minolta Colormeter III), works good, bit pricy though.

Peter

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Peter, Does it clean ok?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try another polarizing filter or a warming polarizing filter.

Note to self: add POC to LOAA.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.2; U; Series60/3.1 NokiaN95_8GB/30.0.018; Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 ) AppleWebKit/413 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/413)