Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,219   Posts: 1,532,227   Online: 822

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

DOF-scale changes with format?

Weirdest thing. I passed the website dpreview.com, and saw a mention of a lens. Now, I don't remember the exact wording, but it said something like "This lens has a Depth-of-Field Scale, but it is calibrated for fullframe, so it will be of no use to most users."

NB: the above was written by an editor in a review. This was not a random user comment. I am so sorry I can't link to it, but I don't remember which review it was.

Now... I am not an optics expert, but I do belive that a given lens at a given aperture and focused at a given point, will have exactly the same depth of field no matter the type or size of photosensitive material behind it.

What am I missing?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    The different formats will have correspondingly different enlargement factors and hence different circles of confusion.
    "Only dead fish follow the stream"

[APUG Portfolio] [APUG Blog] [Website]

Shooter
    35mm
    Alright, I looked up "circles of confusion" on wikipedia.

Does the difference in depth of field relate to enlargement?

If one enlarges not to the same final size for two images of different formats, but by a set factor of for instance 15, would the depth of field then be the same of the two images?

I'm sorry about asking so many questions, I am just really curious

Thanks you,

Emil

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Emil View Post
    Weirdest thing. I passed the website dpreview.com, and saw a mention of a lens. Now, I don't remember the exact wording, but it said something like "This lens has a Depth-of-Field Scale, but it is calibrated for fullframe, so it will be of no use to most users."