Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,829   Posts: 1,582,165   Online: 1013

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Archival negative storage methods

If I've posted in the wrong forum I trust the moderators will relocate it.

Apologies if this is an old, tired subject, but I'd like some fresh opinions.

I've been using Print-File sleeves for many years, stored in plastic enclosed "dust proof" 3-ring binder boxes. I'm wondering if there's a better way. I shoot mostly 120 (6x4.5 or 6x7) and 4x5. Because that demon d*****l is a part of my workflow, I have to trim the negative strips somewhat shorter than I would if I were exclusively optically printing. This means the strips don't fit easily into the available Print-File page solutions, and I waste a lot of storage. Plus, I wonder if some of my dust problems have to do with static generated during insertion and retrieval of negatives from the print-file sleeves.

For those who have used both the print-file-type page sleeves and the Archival Supplies-type acid-free boxes, envelopes, and sleeves, which do you like better? My objectives are compactness of storage, archival and dust-free safety, freedom from scratching/static when inserting/removing, and ease of cataloging/retrieval. I don't absolutely have to be able to see the negatives; I scan everything for cataloging purposes, so I can find an image on the computer and then pull the negative.

I was thinking of boxes containing envelopes, each containing one or more rolls of side-lock-sleeved 120 strips. For 4x5, individual sleeved negatives would be stored. I'm not averse to either poly or glassine, depending on what others' experiences have been with either.

Opinions? and thanks for bearing with me on this tedious subject.
    Michael Sebastian
    Website | Blog

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images