Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,619   Posts: 1,647,724   Online: 788

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Basic Electronics Help--Building a Shutter Speed Tester

I want to build this -- it's a quick and dirty little device to test the shutter speed of some of the cheaper film cameras I have. The precision I'm after kind of stands in contrast to the whole lo-fi photography trend, but humor me. If nothing else, it will be a fun project for my son (the wannabe roboticist) and me to work on.

I'm no electrician and the instructions are sketchy, so I need some help picking the right parts. Here they are with my questions:
    • phototransistor (will infrared work?)
    • 5K ohm resistor (half watt or quarter watt? 4.7K seems standard.)
    • mono plug
    • switch
    • battery holder (2 AA? What about 9V? How do I know which type will work?)
    • project case

Also, do I need a particular gauge solder?

Thanks for the help!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I would imagine, the type of photo transistor must match the type of light source you'd be using.

As far as resister goes, 1/4 watts 4.7Kohm is sufficient.

Based on the picture, the power source is TWO AA batteries. So, you'd need a holder for two double-A batteries.

You'd need a resin core solder for electronics work. You can buy a small roll or ones that come in small tube at your local Radio Shack. Don't worry about gauge.

Other than the photo TR, you can buy everything at a Radio Shack.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

Shooter
    Multi Format