Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,592   Posts: 1,546,006   Online: 942

Shooter
    35mm

What camera/film combo would produce these looks?

Hi there,

I am relatively new to film (one week in actually). For the last few years I have been shooting digital but I have felt there was something missing. It was all too simple. Too boring. Too easy. So I have arrived at film and loooving it so far!

I'm currently shooting with a Yashica T4 (yeah, just point and shoot at this stage) and Portra 400 NC/VC film. I'm still coming to grips with a bunch of the new terminology so excuse me if I'm not up to speed yet - I'm still very much a newbie at this game.

I have a simple question. What camera/film combinations would produce around about results similiar to the following photographs?

Thank you very much for your time and if I have put this in the wrong forum I apologise! Point me in the right direction and I'll remove and repost

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Firstly, hi Alexandros, and welcome to APUG!

The camera is less important than the film type. All film cameras are basically a light-tight box with a lens and shutter on the front. As you progress into film photography you will come to understand that it is lenses and film that are the more important factors. For the time being stick with what you have, get used to its idiosyncracies.

Regarding your question:

The first picture I'm not sure, there are others here who are better informed on colour film in low light situations.

The second, looking at the grain, I would hazard a guess at either Ilford HP5+ 400 speed film, or Kodak Tri-X 400. Also the second photograph is most likely a photoshop construction, the car being added in later. As far as camera goes, pretty much any 35mm camera could have made the ingredients of that picture.

-----------My Flickr-----------