Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,632   Online: 678

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Med. Format RF

What Film for Pentax 67

Hi Guys,
    I'm new to this forum and have become somewhat disenchanted with 35 mm digital photography.
    I recently purchased a Pentax 67II body and five assorted lenses to go with it. Suffice to say, this is a mother of an SLR. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on what sort of 120 film I should start with to shoot a few frames with this thing hand held. I travel and photograph in Africa a lot and am very influenced by the black and white work of Peter Beard and more recently by Nick Brandt. In the places I photograph, there's not much scope or time for setting up a heavy tripod.
    Apologies if this sounds all a bit amateurish, but like I said I'm totally new to meduim format photography and haven't used a 120 camera since I was at university in the 1980's. Any advise would will be gratefully received.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    If you're going to do a lot of handheld photography, you might want to seriously think about getting a 35mm system. Even a large 35mm SLR is easy to handhold. The Pentax 67-II is not.

As for film, there are so many choices that it's hard to know where to begin, but for black-and-white film, Ilford FP-4 Plus and HP-5 Plus and their close cousins, Kodak Plus-X and Tri-X, are a great place to start. My favourite 120 colour print film these days is the very recent (just released in 2009) Kodak Ektar 100, but you might need a faster film to handhold this large camera.
    Jim MacKenzie - Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada