Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,908   Posts: 1,521,523   Online: 878

bryanphoto

Filters for black and white wildlife photography?

Can anyone suggest uses for certain filters in black and white wildlife photography? I am not very experienced with black and white photography, having worked mainly with color, but am interested in trying it. Example situations and suggested filters and their effects would be helpful. For example, what filters, if any, would you imagine using to photograph mountain gorillas in the their dense dark green environment? Thank you.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Polarizing or yellow will help with contrast. You will need to use a really fast film, as the filters will cut exposure and slow down shutter speed or require larger apertures, or a combination of both.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum
    BTW: the big kid in my avatar is my hero, my son, who proudly serves us in the Navy. "SALUTE"

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I tend to think of color filters for BW photography as a game of matching colors. The more similar the color of the filter, that color in the scene will be recorded lighter than without the filter, and then of course, the opposite is true for it's counterpart. Ex, if you are shooting landscape and put on a green filter, the foliage would be lighter and the magentas/red will be darker.
    K.S. Klain

Shooter
    35mm
    Supposing the gorillas are dark grey, and the foliage is dark green, which is also going to be rendered as dark grey in the picture, you might want to use a green filter so as to lighten the foliage, with the intent of having the darker gorillas stand out against the lighter background. In colour vision you separate gorillas and foliage by colours. In B&W vision you have to create the separation by differentiating the shades of grey.